Hutt City, New Zealand
Updated:2013-12-26Hits:Word size:[ Large Medium Small ]


Lower Hutt (Māori: Awakairangi) is a city in the Wellington Region of the North Island of New Zealand, and one of the four cities that constitute the Wellington metropolitan area.


It is New Zealand's tenth most populous city, with a population of 102,900. The city covers an area of 377 km2 (146 sq mi) around the lower half of the Hutt Valley and the eastern shores of Wellington Harbour. It is separated from Wellington proper by the harbour, and from Upper Hutt by the Taitā Gorge.


Lower Hutt City is administered by the Hutt City Council, but neither the New Zealand Geographic Board nor the Local Government Act recognise the name Hutt City. This alternative name has led to confusion, as Upper Hutt is administered by a separate city council, the Upper Hutt City Council, which objects to the name of Hutt City.

Print Close
Produced By 大汉网络 大汉版通发布系统